Posted in Bible Study

Peter’s Lesson


54 Then they seized him and led him away, bringing him into the high priest’s house, and Peter was following at a distance. 55 And when they had kindled a fire in the middle of the courtyard and sat down together, Peter sat down among them. 56 Then a servant girl, seeing him as he sat in the light and looking closely at him, said, “This man also was with him.” 57 But he denied it, saying, “Woman, I do not know him.” 58 And a little later someone else saw him and said, “You also are one of them.” But Peter said, “Man, I am not.” 59 And after an interval of about an hour still another insisted, saying, “Certainly this man also was with him, for he too is a Galilean.” 60 But Peter said, “Man, I do not know what you are talking about.” And immediately, while he was still speaking, the rooster crowed. 61 And the Lord turned and looked at Peter. And Peter remembered the saying of the Lord, how he had said to him, “Before the rooster crows today, you will deny me three times.” 62 And he went out and wept bitterly. 
Luke 22:54-62

The Denial
It was so easy for Peter to deny knowing Christ. He didn’t plan to do it, and I wonder if he even realized what he was doing in each of the three circumstances. He was acting out of fear for his life. For just a moment, his eyes were focused on his fears instead of focused on Jesus. Our fears reveal where we trust God the least and where we don’t understand God’s character. Peter’s fear showed that he didn’t trust God to take care of him and he didn’t understand that God had a plan for good in his life. Lately many of my fears have centered around being alone in the future, physically or emotionally. Those fears show me that I need to lean more on God and learn to trust that God will always be with me.

The Moment of Realization

Verse 61 says the Lord turned and looked at Peter, but it doesn’t say that Jesus said anything. It doesn’t even give any indication how close Peter was to Jesus. Words weren’t necessary, though. Because Peter had spent time with Jesus, Peter knew what that glance meant. He realized where he had gone wrong, and it caused him much sorrow to know what he had done. Hebrews 12:11 reminds us that “For the moment all discipline seems painful rather than pleasant, but later it yields the peaceful fruit of righteousness to those who have been trained by it.” I didn’t enjoy the moment when I looked at my life and realized I was letting my fear of the future hinder me from trusting God. My fear of being lonely led to lashing out mentally at others for “abandoning me”, but God reminded me that I shouldn’t look to other people to satisfy my loneliness. God is the only one that can fill that need within me; He gives me friends and family as an addition to the joy He supplies not a substitute.

The Lesson Learned

Peter learns his lesson about being bold about his faith in Jesus and God. Instead of staying mired down in his failure, accounts in Acts show Peter speaking boldly. In Acts 4:8-12, Peter speaks to the officials about the power of Christ to heal. He put aside all of his fears and openly gave all credit to Jesus and fully claimed to know Christ. Later when he writes his first letter to the churches, he tells them to “always be ready to give a defense” (1 Peter 3:15). Reading this in the context of the earlier passage shows that Peter was speaking from experience. Be ready to defend your faith and to claim your faith because the discipline when you don’t is painful. Whatever lesson God is trying to reveal to you, be ready to learn it.

Author:

www.multicatable.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

