Posted in Book Challenge

Mr. Darcy! What girl after reading Pride and Prejudice or watching the movie doesn’t want to get to know this pensive man more?

darcy

I know, I know, as an English literature major I should choose a male character for more than his ability to woo from beneath the pages of a classic novel, but for today’s challenge, I’m going to sigh over Mr. Darcy for a bit.

He starts as an abominable man because he refuses to socialize at the party. In the words of Stephanie Tanner, “how rude!” No harm though, because Elizabeth isn’t particularly interested in him at this point. She’s a good sister, promoting the romance of Jane and Mr. Bingley. In fact, he spends much of the book in the proverbial dog house.

She is tolerable, but not handsome enough to tempt me.

Finally though he professes his love for Elizabeth first by saving her family’s reputation and her sister then through his words to her.

You must know, surely you must know, it was all for you. You are too generous to trifle with me. I believe you spoke with my aunt last night, and it has taught me to hope as I’d scarcely allowed myself before. If your feelings are still what they were last April, tell me so at once. My affections and wishes have not changed, but one word from you will silence me forever. If, however, your feelings have changed, I would have to tell you: you have bewitched me, body and soul, and I love… I love… I love you. And I never wish to be parted from you from this day on.

Mr. Darcy!

His character is multi-faceted and real. He portrays a realness to romance in that he waffles. He makes mistakes and he redeems himself. In addition to his enchanting words, he’s just a well-written character. That’s why he’s my favorite male character.

Book Challenge

Author:

www.multicatable.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

