Posted in Book Challenge

With a Little Help From My Friend


I had to get my best human friend’s help with this next challenge because I was having a tough time finding a book that I’ve loved but hated at the same time. We landed on the definition that it’s a book that I really enjoyed but that there were characters or plotlines that I didn’t enjoy. Without going too far back in my memory, I would choose A Prayer for Owen Meany, which I’ve posted about a couple of times if you’ll remember. (If you don’t remember, click here and here.) This book is one that I really enjoyed reading, but Owen’s character annoyed me sometimes. I was also slightly put off by the format of the book going back and forth between present and past. The present wasn’t as interesting to me. All in all though, I’d say there’s more love for this book than there is hate.

 

My friend also helped me parse out the meaning of the challenge that I skipped. She helped me see that the characterization “overrated” is an opinion, and it doesn’t mean I am saying no one else should read the book nor am I saying it’s a bad book. I am simply saying that Twilight does not deserve as much hype as it has received. There are better stories out there. It’s a sensational novel that garnered a lot of buzz and now can be found in many peddler’s malls. I enjoyed it while I read them, but they’re not ones I will re-read or rush to see the movie (I did get caught up in the first one). There are just better books out there.

Author:

www.multicatable.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

