Posted in Bible Study

New Year’s Resolutions


I usually refrain from setting New Year’s Resolutions because it seems like a lot of hubbub over another day. I also fear failure. This year, though, has me thinking about what I want to accomplish in 2016. I know the year holds the potential for a lot of change within me; hopefully I’ll be starting a teaching career, which I know will grow me as a person. I want to go at this year the right way, growing with God, not against him. For that reason, my resolution is to follow this chronological Bible reading plan.

Reading Genesis 1-3 on January 1 got me thinking about beginnings. This is the account of the beginning of everything that I know, excluding God (he already existed). There was nothing except God before this as far as I know. Then God resolved to create. Of course, he didn’t fear failure because He’s God. He set out to do something, a project that would last for eternity. It was all good for a while, but we know that there were a few bumps in the road. They weren’t failures on God’s part though; similarly, even if there are bumps in my path toward my goal this year, it doesn’t automatically mean I’ve failed. Fear of failure shouldn’t be what holds me back from setting a goal, especially if it’s a goal to seek after God.

In addition, I have set a few smaller goals to accomplish this year.

-Get a teaching job.

-Love more.

-Live in the present.

-Keep a gratitude journal.

-Get a live Christmas tree at Christmas.

I also hope to make more posts on this blog about what I’m reading and watching. As a teaser, you should know I brought all of my books from my mom’s house to my apartment, so I will probably be looking back at some of my childhood favorites while I work on reading whatever it is I am currently reading.

For now, cheers!

Happy reading in 2016.

 

Author:

www.multicatable.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

