Posted in Book Review, Literature

Rory Gilmore’s Reading Challenge


If you know me, you know I have a bit of a liking for Gilmore Girls. I’ve watched the entire series straight through twice in the past 1.5 years. I even attempted to dress up as Paris Geller when she’s first accepted to the Yale Daily News.

(Thanks to Clare Lutz for the picture on the right. The hat is off of Martha Stewart, just like in the show.)

Now that I’ve divulged that little tidbit, you will understand how excited I was to find a list of books that Rory Gilmore either read or quoted from on the show. I knew Rory loved books since she makes beautiful references to the world of literature in her graduation speech, but I didn’t expect so many. There were 339 books read or mentioned by Rory Gilmore on the show. Thanks to Patrick Lenton for compiling the list and to Buzzfeed for posting it.

Of course my next step was to determine how many books from the list I have already read. Sadly, I’ve only read a measly little 72 off the 339 books. I’ve got to get reading! My only consolation is that I could give Rory Gilmore some books that needed to be added to her list of books.

For your reading pleasure, I’m going to make a list of books that I think Rory Gilmore needs to add to her reading list if she hasn’t already read them.

1-7. The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis

8. The Bible (all 66 of those) by God

9. Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain

10. The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver

11. A Parchment of Leaves by Silas House

12. Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers

13. She should probably finish the Harry Potter series. No use leaving it unfinished.

14. The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis

15. Number the Stars by Lois Lowry

16. The Giver by Lois Lowry

17. Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson

18. Animal Farm by George Orwell

19. Little House on the Prarie by Laura Ingalls Wilder (Maybe I just have fond memories of these growing up.)

20. So Yesterday by Scott Westerfield (probably came out after the show ended.)

 

I’m sure I could keep listing books, especially if I could see my bookshelf, but I will end with 20 books. This is not to say that Rory’s list isn’t good; I just think she’s lacking.

Happy Reading!

To see her list go to: http://www.buzzfeed.com/krystieyandoli/all-339-books-referenced-in-gilmore-girls#.cyWXvyyw

 

Author:

www.multicatable.wordpress.com

One thought on “Rory Gilmore’s Reading Challenge

Leave a Reply

