Posted in Book Review

The Chronicles of Narnia Part One


It’s been so long since I made a post here that WordPress has changed its entire format. Say what? Just because I haven’t posted doesn’t mean I haven’t been reading. I have, just very slowly.

I’ve actually been re-reading the Narnia series. Somehow I read The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe in fifth grade and then never read any more of the series. I finally read the entire series with my roommate during college. It was a sweet bonding moment for us, even if I think I fell in love with the books more than she did (I think she liked them though). This time through I’m reading in publication order, mainly because I keep getting stuck on The Magician’s Nephew. I’m currently in The Silver Chair, which is the fourth book he published.

This series is a beautiful, somewhat realistic image of God’s relationship with us. There are passages that make me sigh with joy because I can see how C.S. Lewis is using imagery to remind his readers of God. I’m going to list a few of my favorite Narnia moments below in no particular order.

  1. When Eustace describes his transformation from a dragon to a boy. Eustace tells the others how he kept trying to pull off the dragon skin himself, but he couldn’t. He finally realizes that he can’t remove his scaly skin on his own; he needs Aslan. This passage reminds me how we need God in order to take off our old self.
  2. When Jill Pole wants a drink of water but has to turn her back to Aslan. She is scared of the lion, but she’s also really thirsty. In order to get a drink, she has to trust him. Sometimes in order to get what we need or want, we have to trust God is right behind us and not going to hurt us.
  3. When Reepicheep gets to go to Aslan’s country. Actually everything about this little mouse is adorable, although he would hate that word being used to describe him. He is faithful to Aslan through and through.
  4. When Lucy realizes she should follow Aslan regardless if the others do or not. Sometimes following God is difficult, but especially so when those closest to you claim that their way is better. Just as the others finally saw Aslan leading them, God will reveal himself to everyone eventually.

Those are just a few of the finest moments in the Narnia series that immediately come to mind. Now remember I haven’t re-read three of the books yet so there might be more in the future.

For now,

Cheers!

Author:

www.multicatable.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

