Posted in Book Review

Fighting against the flesh.


Sometimes I get really distracted by the world and I forget God. That’s the honest truth and I hope I’m not alone in this struggle. I know at least one fictional character can relate to this struggle. Zach Dylan, in Karen Kingsbury’s Fifteen Minutes, leaves his Danville, KY home to audition for an American-idol type singing competition called Fifteen Minutes. He tells his serious girlfriend and family that the competition will not change him, but within hours of arriving at the competition he finds himself doing things for the camera that he wouldn’t do otherwise. He justifies these actions by telling himself it’s all so he can get on the show and be a witness for Jesus. As the book continues, his ardor for Jesus lessens while his need for fame increases. He gets caught up in the excitement of the show. In the process, he loses his girlfriend and his family becomes estranged.

While I have not recently auditioned for a national TV show or even left my current place of residence, I still get distracted. Zach Dylan got distracted by fame; I get distracted by “fitting in” or “keeping up” or “being enough”. I lose track of what’s really important in my quest to be able to be liked by people.

I would say that this book gets a 5 out of 5. It pulled me out of a book slump and taught me a lesson. It was also a precious read since it pointed me to God. It made me realize once again how precious it is to be able to talk to God. This is the God who created the entire universe and I’m allowed to talk to him. If there’s any kind of fame I should strive for, it should be to be seen as famous in God’s eyes alone. The great thing is that God already sees me as famous. He proves that by letting me have a relationship with him, by forgiving me, and by preparing a place for me in heaven. I’m so excited to spend time with him in heaven where there will be no distractions. In the meantime, I want to keep my eyes focused on God.

The book trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7WwZUfXNU84

Author:

www.multicatable.wordpress.com

2 thoughts on “Fighting against the flesh.

Leave a Reply

