Posted in Blogging for Books

Blogging for Books: I Tried Until I Almost Died


The book I Tried Until I Almost Died by Sandra McCollum focused on grace from God as the answer to frustration and anxiety. I fully agree with that answer. She based the book off of her own personal experiences and the peace she’d found in Christ.
Honestly, this book was not as good as I had hoped. Don’t get me wrong; it had it’s good moments but overall it lacked something. It’s hard to relate to this book unless you have exactly the same anxieties as the author. I did somewhat relate to her need to get things done, but because I don’t have a family with kids I couldn’t relate to that part of her struggle. My other complaint is that while she does use an abundance of scripture, she quotes often from The Message Bible, which I find unreliable. The one thing I really liked was the parts where she demonstrated how she used to read the Bible under a legalistic mindset to how she reads the Bible now with a grace mindset.
I’d give this book a 2 out of 5 stars.

To see more: http://waterbrookmultnomah.com/author-spotlight.php?authorid=185172

image

I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.

Author:

www.multicatable.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

