Posted in Blogging for Books

Blogging for Books: Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World


This is a post for Blogging for Books. org. I received a free copy of this book in exchange for a review. They did not make me give a certain review; the opinions below are entirely my own.

Having A Mary Heart in a Martha World by Joanna Weaver receives a 4.5 out of 5 on my scale. This book takes the stories of Mary and Martha and finds a modern connection. Weaver intertwines her own personal struggles with quotations from other writers in order to find a connection to the life of the reader. It’s not just the average self-help book that tells the reader what to do; I can imagine that Weaver has actually experienced the struggle of doing too much herself.

This book was an easy read but thought-provoking at the same time. I’m sure I’ll find myself coming back to re-read chapters over and over as I need them. The chapters are short enough to read in a single setting but contain enough meat to stick with me throughout the day. In addition, there are wonderful study questions in the back of the book for each chapter. These questions could be good for personal reflection and further study, or they could be used to spark conversation in a Bible study. Furthermore, while this book promotes itself toward females, males could also find places to connect with the lives of Mary and Martha.

The reason this book does not receive the full five stars from me is that I wish it had more scripture. Weavers spends plenty of time talking about scripture, but I wish it was quoted more often. She does point toward some strong passages that I can easily find though, so this is really a petty argument. The book is definitely Biblically based and God led. I’d encourage most any person living in this time to check it out.

http://www.amazon.com/Having-Mary-Heart-Martha-World/dp/1578562589

Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World

Author:

www.multicatable.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

