Posted in Holidays, Life

Contented Christmas


“The secret to happiness lies not in getting what you waver, but in wanting what you have.” -Joanna Weaver.

One of my life goals is to be content with my life. I know it’s not a goal I will ever be able to completely check off because my level of contentment wavers each day, most especially at this time of year. Christmas is hard because I so easily get caught up in the “give-me” attitude of the world rather than the “give-to” attitude of Jesus. Each year, though, I come to the conclusion that I already have more than I need. This year that is especially apparent since I’m moving, but still that little bit of greed leaks into my heart.
This Christmas I encourage you to join me in being grateful for what you have rather than wishing for more, whether that more is more wealth, more happiness, more time, or more stuff.

Paul says to Timothy: “True godliness with contentment is in itself great wealth. After all, we brought nothing with us when we came into the world, and we can’t take anything with us when we leave it. So if we have enough food and clothing, let us be content.” (2 Timothy 6:6-10)

If you need a song to help in this process check out Audrey Assad’s “I Shall Not Want”.

Merry Christmas!

Author:

www.multicatable.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

