Posted in Life

Phones


If you’ve been reading my blog for some time now, you know that I have this thing with cell phones. I’m just as guilty as you are about being on my phone when someone is talking to me, but it drives me crazy when someone does this to me, especially while I’m teaching. I’m feeling really old since now I can say, “when I was in school, students didn’t blatantly use their phone in class. At least we had the decency to hide our phones.” These seniors I’m student teaching for all have phones and all use their phones during class. If we were to take away all of the phones that are used in class, which is how phones were dealt with when I was in school, we would have every student’s phone (and the lead teacher’s phone. I really don’t understand why her phone rings during class, but that’s another issue.).

Long story short. Disconnect. If you’re in class or a meeting or church or talking to someone, have the respect to at least look up from your phone. Remember to live in the present rather than trying to live in the cellular world with someone else many miles (or feet) away. As I said before though, I’m preaching to myself just as much as I’m preaching to you.

Let’s all take a minute without our phones. Put it to the side and do something in entirety without checking it. Just see how much faster you can write a paper or how much more meaningful your conversation is without your phone. Or shocker, just see how much more you get out of a movie when you’re not texting. And for goodness sakes, let’s all stop texting while driving. It’s a bad idea.

If you have a minute (or 8:24 as it is), check out this short film:

Author:

www.multicatable.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

