Posted in Education

You’re Late…Minus Five Points?


Tonight grading is on my mind since mid-term grades go out tomorrow. Several of the students are failing simply because they have not turned in assignments. My cooperating teacher’s policy on late work is that they will receive partial credit depending on how soon they turn it in. I like that she still allows them to turn in the work because the work is useful to their learning, but I don’t think their grade should suffer for it. For this reason I make sure to mark their original grade on the assignment before taking off for lateness. On the other hand I want students to become responsible young adults so there has to be some sort of penalty for late work.

Another dilemma about late work is the fact that some students will simply copy a friend’s paper that has been graded and handed back. When helping a failing student organize his binder, my cooperating teacher found another student’s graded work. Of course that sort of cheating could happen before the student turns in an assignment on time. I want all students to learn and if I believe that every assignment is of value then every student should attempt the assignment.

I’ve decided that homework , while it should receive a small grade so that students feel motivated to do it, should be more focused on comments to improve learning. To that end, I am fairly lenient when grading homework. I’ll give credit for close answers and then write notes to help the students improve their learning. Homework is supposed to be a form of practice, so I don’t feel that the students’ grades should suffer. I’m still in a bit of a moral dilemma about how to handle the inevitable late work.

Maybe some soon to be teachers or experienced teachers out there could share their ideas on grading and late work.

Author:

www.multicatable.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

