Posted in Bible Study

Keeping the Focus


What joy for those whose strength comes from the Lord, who have set their minds on a pilgrimage to Jerusalem. When they walk through the Valley of Weeping, it will become a place of refreshing springs. The autumn rains will clothe it with blessings. They will continue to grow stronger, and each of them will appear before God in Jerusalem.” Psalm 84:5-7

This summer I have learned to keep my focus on Jesus. When I remember that truth, everything else just lines up and I’m less stressed. If I remember who I’m really serving and keep the real goal in mind (Jesus and his message), I am more content and happy. The sons of Korah were referring to a literal journey to Jerusalem, but I can replace Jerusalem with heaven and find a truth for my life here.
My strength does come from God. Oh how I’ve learned that when I’m able to keep going even when my mind is plagued. I am also more joyful when my mind is focused on the fact making every action bring glory to God and I can look forward to the moment when God shows me how my earthly actions brought glory to him. That’s my goal as a Christ follower so when I remember to keep everything I do focused on God’s glory, I am happier. I am only passing through this world on my pilgrimage to heaven.
Then come the valleys of weeping. Those are the times when things seem to be falling apart. At this point in my life that usually means a broken relationship or a lower test grade than expected or just general stress. In those moments if I keep my focus on my journey to heaven and my purpose, I am able to see the “refreshing springs” and blessings.
Finally I will grow stronger. After each trying time of my life, I look back and see how God was using that situation to make my faith stronger. God uses every situation to bring me closer to him. As long as my eyes are focused on him, I’ll be able to get a glimpse of how God is making me stronger through him.
And then some day I will finish this journey and stand before God in heaven. I’ll finally get to hear God say “welcome home.” He’ll show me how he was always with me and I’ll be able to praise him without the distractions created by the sin here on earth.
So I keep my eyes focused.

Since you have been raised to new life with Christ, set your sights on the realities of heaven where Christ sits in the place of honor at God’s right hand. Think about the things of heaven, not the things of earth. For you died to this life, and your real life is hidden with Christ in God. And when Christ, who is your life, is revealed to the whole world, you will share in all his glory. Colossians 3:1-3

Author:

www.multicatable.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

