Posted in Life

What I’ve Been Learning


Summer is always a great time for self-reflection. Add to it that I’ve spent a lot of time away from people I love and I’ve got a perfect situation for some self-examination. (Mind you, sometimes my self-examination becomes too critical and loses the reflection and growth aspect.) I thought I would share a list of what I have learned so far.

1. I’m learning slowly that I can trust people because no matter what happens God has my heart in his hands.

2. Sometimes it’s best to let the past remain in the past. Just because I’m still hurting in some places does not mean that I need to keep remembering and making others remember.

3. Learn to say no.

4. It’s okay to not be busy.

5. Young children are actually kind of fun. Not that I want to teach them full time but I’ve enjoyed being in the 3-5 year old classroom this month.

6. Fear doesn’t have to control me.

7. I am loved. Sometimes I let the lies in my head convince me that no one cares but those really are just lies. I am loved by many people.

8. I really don’t like folding laundry. When I am in my own room it’s real easy to let my clean clothes sit in the hamper for several days because my pile of dirty clothes is not in anyone’s way.

9. Assume the best in people.

10. God’s timing is perfect. So many ways I have seen this.

Some of these things I knew already and just needed to re-learn. It’s only May. Most high school students have not even finished the school year yet. God is already working in my heart.

Verse for today (not my pick but the one that YouVersion sent to me): No discipline is enjoyable while it’s happening-it’s painful! But afterward there will be a peaceful harvest of right living for those who are trained in this way. Hebrews 12: 11

How fitting is that verse. I’ve learned so much because in some ways my heart has been tested and disciplined. I’ve been shown where I’m failing and how I can improve relationships. It’s all been possible because I’ve been truly seeking God and trying to keep my focus there.

So, what’s God been showing you recently?

Author:

www.multicatable.wordpress.com

2 thoughts on “What I’ve Been Learning

  1. I like this a lot. There are so many things that we find out when we take time to hear from God. Discipline is painful but when looking back I know for me I appreciate it now, even though I didn’t back then. Thanks for sharing!

    1. Thank you for replying. It’s nice to know the words I write have more meaning than in my head. I trust that God gives me the words for a reason, which is why I choose to share them, but it can be hard to keep writing when I rarely see the way God uses them. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

