Posted in Remembering

Perfect Memories


A little over a year ago, I made a post about Perfect Moments. In this post, I listed out a small handful of moments that I treasure in my memory. This past year, while tumultuous at times, could add a few more bullets to that list, but that’s not going to be my purpose today. Recently I began reading C.S. Lewis’s space trilogy (according my camp director “only nerds have read the space trilogy”). It’s slow going with the other reading I have to do for classes and such but since I’m almost finished with the first one I think it’s time to make a post about it.

A pleasure is full grown only when it is remembered. You are speaking, Hman, as if the pleasure were one thing and the memory another. It is all one thing.

I listed some minor events, such as watching a train go past, as my perfect moments, but really it was not those events that were perfect. There was really nothing special about those moments and some of them have been repeated with less fond memories. It was the fact that I remembered doing them with special people. The re-living of these moments made them perfect.

There’s a often quoted statement about the journey being more important than the destination. Maybe that’s true, but it might also be true that the memory of the journey is even more important than either of these.

A few more perfect memory moments:

14. It was a semi-emotional weekend, so hiking/climbing the 90 degree angled hill with my BCM friends was perfect for that moment. The perfection of this moment lies in the fact that I didn’t haven’t to think about my emotions while doing this because all of my effort was put into the climb.

15. The 9-hour drive to Washington DC. Stopping in random towns because they had cool names. Walking to the Lincoln Memorial in the dark.

16. Trying on crazy outfits in the Goodwill dressing room.

17. Making a cake to celebrate my mom’s birthday. Surprising her with a house full of balloons and later quietly popping all of these balloons.

18. Debating the importance of education, learning, and school with the middle school child I tutor.

19. Reading through the Psalms from beginning to end. Finding perfect psalms that fit my situation. God’s Word is awesome like that.

20. Being called Ms. Teacher by my sophomores. Oh that kid. “Did you miss me?”

Author:

www.multicatable.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

