Posted in Literature

A choice to believe


“Suppose we have only dreamed, or made up, all those things- trees and grass and sun and moon and stars and Aslan himself. Suppose we have. Then ask I can say is that, in that case, the made-up things seem a good deal more important than the real ones….We’re just babies making up a game, if you’re right. But four babies playing a game can make a play-world which licks your real world hollow. That’s why I’m going to stand by the play-world. I’m on Aslan’s side even if there isn’t any Aslan to lead it. I’m going to live as like a Narnian as I can even if there isn’t a Narnia.” -chapter 12 of The Silver Chair.

Sometimes I have moments of doubt. I wonder if there really is more than this life. I can’t prove it myself. The only evidence I have is the many lives lived before me who believed it enough to die for it. I have the Bible which has survived much longer than other books I read and definitely gets read by many more people. I have the times when I’ve felt God’s presence. But is that enough evidence to base a belief that effects my entire life? Some would say no.

Don’t misunderstand me. I’m not doubting what I believe. I’m just being honest that sometimes these doubts run through my mind. I believe it’s the devil that puts them there as a temptation to give up. Belief is something that we must continually remind ourselves of. That’s why I read my Bible, pray, and attend church and Bible study. This is how I prepare myself for these attacks on my belief that come from within.

I recognize that these doubts exist but I choose faith and hope. Like Puddleglum in this passage I choose to believe what may seem to some as a make-believe. The fact of the matter is that this belief has much more hope than anything else in this world. I’m on God’s team even if there is no God to lead it (although I believe there is). I will live as a Christian even if there turns out to be no heaven.

Author:

www.multicatable.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

