Posted in Education

God and School


The philosophy of the school room in one generation will be the philosophy of government in the next. -Abraham Lincoln.

 

This quote was shared in a song last night at church. As a Christian who also aspires to be a teacher, this is a weight on my shoulders. The way that I teach English will affect how this country runs in the future. That means there has to be more to my job than teaching English. I love literature and the English language but I have to instill more than that into students in order to make a difference in the world.

During the early years of my education major studies at school, I was required to write what the school calls a philosophy of education. I wrote about things such as teaching the whole mind and instilling respect in my students. These are great things, but what is missing is how I’m going to deal with my own personal philosophy about life. I live as a child of God; I’ve been forgiven and shown awesome love. How can I go about sharing that philosophy of living life with students when the government says I cannot mix “religion” and school?

I know I can discuss religious matters when students bring the subject up for discussion but I want to influence students’ lives with God’s love. I want to be able to teach the Bible as more than just literature. I don’t want to skirt around religious topics in a piece of literature. Let’s be honest, most of the writings from pre-contemporary times had influences from religious thinking, and I might even venture to say that current ones do as well depending on how one defines religion. It’s inevitable that God will come up in the classroom.

I had a discussion about all of this with a couple of friends at lunch today. Both are Christians and one is planning to teach middle school math. Basically the only conclusion that we came to is that we can’t avoid this topic in school because that does not profit the students, but teachers also can’t force their ideas on students. It’s a fine balance that I’m not sure I’ve fully grappled enough with. I want to share God’s love but I also know of the restrictions placed on me.

Author:

www.multicatable.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

