Posted in Bible Study

Proverbs 3:5


Hello, I am a planner.

The hardest thing for me to do is to let go and let someone else take control.  Even when I am exhausted physically, mentally, and spiritually, I still have problems handing over the reins.  Unfortunately, sometimes I treat God the same way.  I catch a glimpse of what I think is God’s plan and boom, I am off trying to plan the best way to execute it.  I forget to wait patiently for God to show me how to execute it.

Or in other cases, I want something so badly that I plan how to get it.  I justify leaving God out of the planning process.  I feel in control as long I am planning.  I know that the end result is pleasing to God, hopefully, so I work it all out in my head. Then often, God is like, nope, we’re gonna do it my way.  My plan is destroyed and I am left crying.

(Patience.  That word and I don’t get along sometimes.)

On the flip side of that problem, there are times I know God is leading me somewhere to do something but I am hesitant to follow because I don’t know how it will turn out.  I don’t know the exact steps it takes to get there so I don’t want to take the first step.  The planner in me wants to plan it all out, but there are some situations I cannot plan because they rely on the reactions and actions of other people.  That’s where I have to trust God and sometimes that is the hardest thing- to realize that I cannot plan something.

In this video, Kevin references Proverbs 3:5.  I get the first part.  “Trust in the Lord with all your heart.”  Yep, I can trust God  to show me things, to help me, to plan things, but if it doesn’t happen fast enough I tend to jump ahead.  It’s the second part that gets me. “Do not depend on your own understanding.”  But God, I know how to fix this situation.  Just trust me.  That’s where I fail.  God doesn’t need to trust me; I need to trust him and let him lead.

Author:

www.multicatable.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

