Posted in Bible Study, Life

Resting


Resting is something that I find difficult.  I don’t take naps during the day because there is always something to do or I might miss something exciting.  I rarely will sit still and not do something.  I take books with me everywhere so that I am not wasting precious time when I could be reading a few sentences.  It’s hard to just rest.

That could be why this time between school and my trip to London has been difficult.  I don’t have a job right now and at times I feel a bit useless.  I spend my days thinking about my trip, reading, watching movies, helping around the house, and talking to friends.  Sometimes I can go all day without ever talking to anyone except my mom.  It seems odd to me that I could be doing God’s will when I am not even around people.  The thing is though that God’s will can be for me to rest.

When I left college this semester, I was tired, emotionally, physically, and possibly even spiritually.  It wasn’t really unusual, just the normal tiredness after a full semester.  I knew though that I had an exciting summer ahead with my trip to London to serve in a charity.  I also knew that I needed to take some time to rest.  Ugh.  At times it has been hard for me to fathom not working or studying, but at other times it has been so sweet.  I have been able to read my Bible more, have long conversations with friends on the phone, and read many books.  I may not be able to see fruit of my time here at home yet, but I know that God is using this time to prepare me for something.

Rest is Biblical.  In Psalm I read:

It is useless for you to work so hard

from early morning until late at night,

anxiously working for food to eat;

for God gives rest to his loved ones.

In Ecclesiastes, Solomon writes how both work and pleasure are useless.  He especially says that working long hours is useless and people should focus more on enjoying life.

As much as I hate sitting still and not working, I know that God gives this time to me for a reason.  I also trust that God is using this time, and I keep my eyes open for ways that I can work in God’s will.  Other than that I rest.

 

Author:

www.multicatable.wordpress.com

2 thoughts on “Resting

  1. It also reminds you that sometimes in the midst of wanting to do better we can lose sight of what’s important. Alone time opens up our mind to so many things. Get to know your mom, enjoy this time, and I really enjoyed the Youtube clip.

Leave a Reply

