Posted in Bible Study

Heart of Worship


So in the past three Sundays I have been in three different types of churches- Catholic, Baptist, and Christian.  They all have slightly different orders of service, but I think at the heart of each one there was a theme of worshiping God.  That’s what seems the most important- to worship God with your heart.  While there were moments where I felt uncomfortable, I enjoyed worshiping God and I learned something in each one.  This past Sunday when I went to my friend’s church (Catholic) the priest used 1 Corinthians 12, which talks about the various spiritual gifts.  The verse that really caught my attention was verse 13.  It says “For we were all baptized by one Spirit into one body- whether Jews or Greeks, slave or free- and we were all given the one Spirit to drink.”  This verse says to me that regardless of worship style, all Christians are working with and for one Spirit.

Philippians 2: 1-2

Is there any encouragement from belonging to Christ? Any comfort from his love? Any fellowship together in the Spirit? Are your hearts tender and compassionate?  Then make me truly happy by agreeing wholeheartedly with each other, loving one another, and working together with one mind and purpose.

It seems that regardless of the type of church that one attends, the real matter at hand is a question of the heart.  As long as our heart is in the right place to follow God’s lead, the worship style and order is not as important.  Maybe we make too much of a deal about denominations, and maybe as Christians we should try working together more.

Author:

www.multicatable.wordpress.com

2 thoughts on “Heart of Worship

  1. I liked your article- reminds me of when I was “church hopping” in college. Keep in mind, while most every church preaches truth, not all churches practice Biblical principles. I totally missed the boat growing up in a Lutheran church; but I probably didn’t pay enough attention anyways! You want a church that will help you grow in your relationship and knowledge of Jesus, based on what the Bible says. Check out this article from CARM- http://carm.org/church
    God bless and keep on writing!

    1. Thank you for the encouraging words! I am checking out this website right now. I will clarify that I have two very Biblically sound churches, one at home and one at college, but due to some travelling this summer I have been visiting other places as well.

Leave a Reply

