Posted in Bible Study

Hold On To The Promises


Today I was reading from Psalm 21 where the king was rejoicing because the Lord had granted the desires of his heart.  I then started thinking back over my life and the recent past when God has granted the desires of my heart.  I have a lot to rejoice about.  God has blessed me.  Even when he didn’t grant my prayers exactly how I expected he gave me what was best for me.  Sometimes, though, he granted my prayers exactly how I had asked.  I rejoice.

That train of thought led me start humming Sanctus Real’s song, Promises.  That song rings very true for me.  I hold on to the promises that God has made, because I know he will fulfill them.  Here are a few of the promises I hold on to:

Psalm 62:2  “He alone is my rock and my salvation, my fortress where I will never be shaken.”

Jeremiah 31:3 “I have loved you, my people, with an everlasting love.  With unfailing love I have drawn you to myself.”

Romans 8:28 “And we know that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to his purpose for them.”

Matthew 11:28 “Then Jesus said, ‘Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest.'”

Psalm 37:4 “Delight yourself in the Lord and he will give you the desires of your heart.”

So I hold on to the promises that God has given.  Even though some of these were given to the Israelites specifically, I believe that they are written for a purpose.  God had them written down so that I could read them and find hope in them as well.

Author:

www.multicatable.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

