Posted in Movies

The Director of My Life


Why is it that in movies people always seem to know the right thing to say or do?  Why do guys and girls know exactly how to interact with each other?  How are there always happy endings?

Okay. I just finished watching a sad movie that ended all happy.  I get the sad part of the movie, but where’s the happy ending for me?

I really love watching movies because they give me hope that good things do happen and that there are happy endings for people and situations.

Then I come out of movie world and remember it’s fiction, there’s someone (lots of someones) writing and directing the story.  It becomes less hopeful, because it’s not real.  So I go back to living my life and trying to find my place.

This time though I finished the movie and had some of these same thoughts.  Instead of shutting it all off and going back to life I took it a bit farther.  I let myself write some of these complaints down, and once again a revelation came.  God reminded me that there is someone orchestrating real life, just like in the movies.

God is writing and orchestrating my life. He knows what’s going to happen.  He has a happy ending planned for me: the day that we get to meet face to face!  He has it all under control.  He’s feeding me the lines one by one, much like a director might coach an actor through a scene during rehearsal (okay I’m thinking of stage productions here because I know very little about movie sets).  I have to choose to listen to his coaching and follow it.

The cool part?  In a movie or a play, if the actor does not follow the director’s coaching and messes up too much, she gets fired.  In life, if I mess up or don’t follow every stage direction, God forgives.  Yes I should keep trying to follow the directions and the coaching, but I’m not going to get fired.  God loves me.  He has perfect plans for me.  There is a happy ending and I believe a happy life along the way.

Jeremiah 29:11

For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.

Romans 8:28

And we know that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to his purpose for them.

Author:

www.multicatable.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

