Posted in Bible Study, Life

The Triangular Battle


blog

 

I often feel like I am in constant battle.  The Bible talks about a war going on in each of us, and I definitely feel it sometimes. Excuse my lack of art skills and look at the figure I drew to represent the battle.  I feel like I am trapped in a triangle where the three forces vying for my attention are my sinful nature, what others want from me, and what God wants from me.  I want God to win out, but sometimes the other two take control.  It’s not about finding a balance between the three of these; it’s more about making who I am and what others want from me less important than what God wants.

An example of giving in to who I am is when I allow myself to be jealous of other people.  In my mind I get jealous of what others have, how easy other people’s lives seem, and the attention that others receive.  I stop focusing on how God has blessed my life and focus on what I am lacking.  There is a verse in Ecclesiastes that addresses this.  Ecclesiastes 6:9 says “Enjoy what you have rather than desiring what you don’t have. Just dreaming about nice things is meaningless; it is like chasing the wind.” Yep.  When I am enjoying God’s blessings and thanking him, there is no jealousy.

An example of giving in to what others want from me is when I allow other people to influence my decisions.  Sometimes I am too hard of a worker and I don’t know when to say no.  This leads to long hours working on group projects and often this leads to stress, frustration, and a lack of God time.  I usually feel miserable.  It would be so much better if I would just say no sometimes and let others share the load.  I can’t do it all, but I feel that others expect me to so I sure do try sometimes.  The truth of the matter is that I can’t do any of it without God.

When I rely on God and listen to what he wants in my life, I am happier.  I feel more satisfied knowing that I am following his great plan.  I know that his plan is better than anything I could plan.  It takes patience, but I am finding that if I am constantly looking for ways that God is working in my life I see them more.  Sometimes I can’t say how God is working in my life, because I am not looking.  It takes a constant awareness and lots of prayer but God does show me bits of the plan.  I’ve just got to be patient and searching for him.

Author:

www.multicatable.wordpress.com

One thought on “The Triangular Battle

  1. Wow, fabulous post!! I truly and honestly could relate exactly to what you were saying. I feel like lately I have been feeling pulled in my the world and I can’t find my way back to God. It seems like it is much more of a struggle than it once used to be. I like the verse you mentioned- so applicable to what I’ve been feeling. Lately I feel like I have been desiring things that don’t really matter and I have been focusing more on the things I don’t have than the things I do have. I like how you mentioned about dreaming about things- I have been spending more time dreaming and wishing for things to occur and spending less time with God. Wow, so true- sometimes I can’t really say what I’m learning since I’m not looking and wanting to learn!! It is hard sometimes to keep a constant relationship with God, but I think the commitment and perseverance is worth it- if a Christian life was easy everyone would want to be doing it! : ) Thank you for this post!!

Leave a Reply

