Posted in Bible Study

I’m Hungry, said Jesus


I chuckle a little when I read Luke 24: 41.  It says, “Then he asked them, ‘Do you have anything here to eat?'”

I realize the meaning behind this is actually serious.  Jesus was trying to prove to them that he wasn’t a spirit, that he was a real human at that point.  He had just shown the disciples that they could touch him, and what better way to prove humaness than to eat food?  So he did.

I think it’s just the way the question is phrased in my translation.  It seems so out of the blue to ask for food after having this serious discussion.  Maybe though Jesus was hungry.  I mean he hadn’t eaten for a few days.  I would be starving.

Yeah, it’s probably just to prove that he was human and had actually risen from the dead back to life.  It just makes me chuckle.  By the way, he ate broiled fish in this instance.  Yum!  Now when I eat fish, I’m going to think of this scene where Jesus revealed himself to the disciples and I’m going to be thankful for that awesome miracle that proved his power as God.

Author:

www.multicatable.wordpress.com

One thought on “I’m Hungry, said Jesus

  1. I love it! I had always just thought that this was a good indication that he was more than a spirit. It never occurred to me that OF COURSE he would be hungry after 3 days!

Leave a Reply

