Posted in Life

Don’t Give Up


Sometimes, giving up seems like the best route.  Not giving up on life in general but giving up on particular aspects.  I’m not talking about giving things to God and letting go; I’m referring to giving up something because I’m tired of trying.

Without getting too specific, I will divulge that my pity parties often conclude with me saying to myself, “I give up, I’m done.”  Then later, usually after I’ve slept, prayed, read my Bible, and hung out with friends, I feel silly for saying that to myself.  I could never give up on something that mattered to me simply because I was tired.  I realize that’s a horrible reason to give up because tiredness can easily be cured. It’s just that during those pity parties I am usually physically tired, not getting what I want, or putting my trust in the wrong places.

It’s the lesson after the pity party that is the most important.  I always come back to the point where I know that I can keep going and that I don’t need to give up.

Today I ran across a verse (via another blog) that really encourages me to keep going.

Galatians 6:9 says “So let’s not get tired of doing what is good.  At just the right time we will reap a harvest of blessing if we don’t give up.” (NLT)

I often want to give up trying to encourage people because I don’t feel that I am receiving any benefit myself.  The thing is that the benefit I receive doesn’t matter.  What matters is that person and God are receiving benefit and blessing.  I’ve just got to hold on to this promise that I will receive a blessing from God at just the right time according to his time frame.  That is enough of a reward.

I’ll leave you with a song by Calling Glory.

 

Have a great day.

Author:

www.multicatable.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

