Posted in Bible Study

Reading Psalm 73


Sometimes I am envious of other people.  I walk along and I see groups of friends laughing and they seem to have no cares in the world.  Everything seems so easy to some people.

Now this is not going to be a pity party for my struggles and issues, because honestly I have it pretty easy.  It’s just that I look at other people and wonder how they keep their life so together sometimes when at times it feels like my burdens are so heavy.

I know that those people that I envy at times have problems as well.  They have to.  It’s just my perspective that I don’t see those struggles.

Well last night during my Bible time (one of them that is), I was reading Psalm 73.  Asaph in this instance knew exactly how I feel sometimes.  He says:

For I envied the proud
when I saw them prosper despite their wickedness.
They seem to live such painless lives;
their bodies are so healthy and strong.
They don’t have troubles like other people;
they’re not plagued with problems like everyone else.

Yes! That’s exactly how I feel sometimes.  I think it’s so nifty when the Bible knows exactly what I’m thinking.  That’s God speaking to me.

Later in the psalm he says:

Did I keep my heart pure for nothing?
Did I keep myself innocent for no reason?
 I get nothing but trouble all day long;
every morning brings me pain.

I definitely feel that sometimes, maybe not as dramatically but still.  Sometimes I wonder why I try to hard to follow God when it seems that other people can do just fine not following God.

Like Asaph, I go to God (he says he goes to God’s sanctuary).  Then I realize that God, who is a just God, will bring judgement on those people who do not follow his ways.  He’ll bring this in HIS time though.  I don’t need to worry about those other people who’s lives seem to be so easy, yet they seem to be living in sin.  It’s not my place to judge them.  Instead I should focus on being the example and showing God’s love.

I really like the last three verses of this psalm:

My health may fail, and my spirit may grow weak,
    but God remains the strength of my heart;
    he is mine forever.

 Those who desert him will perish,

    for you destroy those who abandon you.
 But as for me, how good it is to be near God!
I have made the Sovereign Lord my shelter,
and I will tell everyone about the wonderful things you do.

God has it all under control.  That’s my hope and what I hold on to.

 

To read Psalm 73 in the New Living Translation (which is what I read most often out of) go to: http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Psalm+73&version=NLT

Author:

www.multicatable.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

