Posted in Bible Study

God is Jealous for Me…and You.


Sometimes I wonder if I would have been better off not growing up in church.  It is so easy to accept statements as true without finding Biblical proof because I trust preachers, for the most part.  Lately, though, our college group at church has been doing a lot of Bible searching.  We are coming across some of the deep questions (ie. the unpardonable sin, salvation, the treatment of women, etc.) and we’re trying to find Biblical answers.  Some of the conversations leave me confused more, but sometimes we find decently clear answers.

Anyway, where I’m going with this is that tonight my roommate brought up the phrase “He is jealous for me” from David Crowder’s song “How He Loves.”  Now I really like this song, but once again I had not taken the time to find verses that support these statements (I am more likely to find scripture for songs than I am preachers though to be honest).  I knew that it was in the Bible somewhere that it calls God a jealous God, but I didn’t know off the top of my head.  So to the concordance I went (side note: one of these days I need to invest in a good concordance…).  Here’s what I came up with:

Exodus 20:5  You must not bow down to them or worship them, for I, the Lord your God, am a jealous God who will not tolerate your affection for any other gods. I lay the sins of the parents upon their children; the entire family is affected—even children in the third and fourth generations of those who reject me.

Exodus 34:14 You must worship no other gods, for the Lord, whose very name is Jealous, is a God who is jealous about his relationship with you.

Nahum 1:2a

The Lord is a jealous God,

filled with vengeance and rage.

 

That’s just three verses that point toward the jealousy of God.  I like the definition of jealousy that my concordance gives: “intolerant of a rival.”  That makes me feel comforted.  God doesn’t like it when something else takes me away from him, or to look at that differently when I drift toward something else.  He gets jealous and he wants me back.  Why?  Because he loves me.

And you.  God is also jealous of you.  He wants you to have a relationship with him.  All that takes is believing what He says is true, believing in his son, Jesus Christ, who came to Earth and died as a sacrifice for our sins.  Jesus’ death does imply that we sin, which basically means that we all do things that are wrong in God’s eyes and that need forgiveness.  Then it takes a commitment to follow God and allow the Holy Spirit to work in your life.  He commands us to love him and to love our neighbors.  Make it a public commitment.  He then gives us a gift for simply believing.  Crazy right?  But not only is God jealous but he’s also generous.  He gives us the right to be called a child of God (1 John 1:12) and he gives us life eternally in Heaven (which I think is pretty great).  He gives us the privilege of worshiping him and loving him…forever.  Nifty right?

I know that this is something I have done, and I look forward to the day when I can see God in Heaven.  I try to show my love for God to other people.  Sometimes I fail, but ya know what?  God is faithful to forgive me of my sins (1 John 1:9).  I hope that whoever you are reading this have done the same.  If not, maybe what I’ve said makes sense.  If you’re confused or questioning it, shoot me a message or find someone that does believe it.  Ask some questions.  You’ll find answers, and I have the faith that God’s answers will be clear in His time.

Author:

www.multicatable.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

