Posted in Literature, Music

Being Alive


“Now I think no riches can compare with being alive”

-Akhilleus in The Iliad

 

I agree whole-heartedly with Akhilleus here.  Being alive is one of the greatest blessings that God has given me, besides the blessing and gift of salvation.  Yeah, sometimes life gets difficult, but even in those moments there are good things about being alive.  I can breathe, I can laugh, I can read, I can write, and I can enjoy life.  I am blessed with the ability to honor God with my life.  That’s more than the angels can say.  There’s a line in a Steven Curtis Chapman song that speaks directly to this:

I’ve been shown the Savior’s love
The Grace of God has raised me up
To show me things the angels long to look into
And I know things the Angels only wish they knew

The angels may know what God’s voice sounds like and what his face looks like, but I know what God’s grace feels like.  I am blessed to live through good and bad parts of life and experience the grace and love of God. It truly is good to be alive and nothing can compare.

Well maybe I should make a comparison.  Nothing can compare to being alive except being in heaven.

 

I mentioned Angel’s Wish by Steven Curtis Chapman, but here’s another song that is inspiring this post.

Author:

www.multicatable.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

