Posted in Life

Overwhelmed and Relieved


Tonight after a meeting at work, I came back to my dorm and felt completely overwhelmed for the first time this semester.  I really just felt like I was drowning in things to do, but I couldn’t put my finger on what needed to be done first.  There were many things pressing on my mind concerning summer plans, homework, and work commitments.  Drowning is the best way to describe the feeling, or rather gasping for air.  I needed music.

I needed to remember that “it is well.”  No matter what life and this world throws at me, God has it under control.  Actually that’s been my mantra for a while.  God has it all under control.

So I breathe and listen to this song.

Instead of trying to accomplish anything pressing, I decided to make a cake for a friend’s birthday.  Shh…she doesn’t know.  It is kinda pressing, because it’s on my list of things to do, but it doesn’t fall under the school or work category.  I was very pleased with the outcome, but I think I should write a cookbook about cooking in a dorm room.  I don’t have very many supplies such as measuring cups or mixing bowls.  I do have tupperware with cup measures on the side and a cake pan, though.  I made do.

Cooking in a dorm room
Cooking in a dorm room

I spread out all of the materials on my desk rather than carting it all down to the basement where the stove is.  That way I could mix everything and only carry down the cake pan and dirty dishes.  Hopefully the cake tastes as good as it looks and smells!

Here’s the recipe I used in case anyone is interested:  http://allrecipes.com/recipe/simple-white-cake/

 

Author:

www.multicatable.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

