Posted in Life

Have Fun Storming the Castle


Today I felt like a princess…kinda.  My friends and I took a spontaneous trip out of the campus town to eat frozen yogurt, shop at Goodwill, play in a castle, and celebrate life and friendship.  The park we visited looks like a castle made of wood.  After a tree climbing experience, in which I failed to climb a tree, we found our inner child and played on the playground.  Since it is Saturday, there were lots of little children playing on the castle.  I am a princess by the way so I felt right at home.

Every time we visit this park, we end up playing with the cute kids there.  Today, this little girl came up to me and was talking about how it had been a perfect day except for the cold.  Then I heard her mom say “don’t sit on that” and I realized that I was sitting on the very thing her mom told her to not sit on so I jumped down.  The thing about kids is their inhibition to talk to strangers.  I’m not sure I was like that as a child, but the kids that visit this park sure are not shy.

This is the tree my friends climbed (and I attempted).  It's very magical looking.
This is the tree my friends climbed (and I attempted). It’s very magical looking.
Climbing in Uggs.  Walking out the branch.
Climbing in Uggs. Walking out the branch.
Walking all the way out the branch.
Walking all the way out the branch.
The tower.
The tower.
I could live here.  Maybe with a little more insulation.
I could live here. Maybe with a little more insulation.
This dog was huge!!!
This dog was huge!!!
The Peoples Exchange Bank...where apparently people are exchanged.  Sounds a little sketchy.
The Peoples Exchange Bank…where apparently people are exchanged. Sounds a little sketchy.

I am a princess by the way.  My Father (in Heaven) is a King!

 

I would also like to add a bit of the book that I purchased at Goodwill.  I picked up A Farewell to Arms (Hemingway) and what convinced me to get it was a drawing from the previous owner that told me the book was bad. Listen to this:

“The forest had been green in the summer when we had come into the town but now there were the stumps and the broken trunks and the ground torn up, and one day at the end of the fall when I was out where the oak forest had been I saw a cloud coming over the mountain.  It came very fast and the sun went a dull yellow and then everything was gray and the sky was covered and the cloud came on down the mountain and suddenly we were in it and it was snow.”

That is beautiful.  This is why I can appreciate Hemingway.  The nature described here shows the emotion of the scene.  Hopefully the rest of the book is as good as these few sentences.

Author:

www.multicatable.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

