Posted in Life

Friends


With some events in my life during the past week or so, I’ve been doing quite a bit of thinking about what means to be a friend and what friends mean to me.  For me, a friend is one that I can tell more than the surface details about my life.  I can be silly, serious, and real with a friend, and I know they can do the same with me.  I have many acquaintances that I can say hey to, talk about the weather with, and share how my day was, but I don’t go to them when I really need advice or a shoulder or want to be completely silly.  That’s what friends are for.  I am thankful to have several good friends here at school and other various places, a best friend on earth, and an absolutely perfect friend in heaven.

In no particular order are some quotations I found various places on the World Wide Web about friends:
Friendship… is not something you learn in school. But if you haven’t learned the meaning of friendship, you really haven’t learned anything.
Muhammad Ali
A friend is one who knows you and loves you just the same.
Elbert Hubbard

Friendship is unnecessary, like philosophy, like art… It has no survival value; rather it is one of those things that give value to survival.
C. S. Lewis

This quote threw me for a loop the first time I read it.  Friendship is unnecessary????  What!?  I get it now though.  We don’t need it to survive-we only need human interaction of some sort- but it does bring value to life.
True friends stab you in the front.
Oscar Wilde

I guess this means that a friend will tell you what you are to your face.
A friend is someone who gives you total freedom to be yourself.
Jim Morrison

Amen!

“Good friends, good books, and a sleepy conscience: this is the ideal life.”

― Mark Twain

A sleepy conscience? I hope this means one hasn’t done bad things, not that one is avoiding owning up to mistakes.  But the other two are definitely on my list.

“Friendship is born at that moment when one person says to another: “What! You too? I thought I was the only one.”
― C.S. Lewis

“I think if I’ve learned anything about friendship, it’s to hang in, stay connected, fight for them, and let them fight for you. Don’t walk away, don’t be distracted, don’t be too busy or tired, don’t take them for granted. Friends are part of the glue that holds life and faith together. Powerful stuff.”

― Jon Katz

I like the “fight for them, let them fight for you” part.

“Silence make the real conversations between friends. Not the saying, but the never needing to say that counts.”
― Margaret Lee Runbeck

I think it’s a true friend that you can sit in silence and it not be awkward.

Proverbs 17:17 A friend loves at all times, and a brother is born for adversity.

Proverbs 27:17 Iron sharpens iron, and one man sharpens another.

New International Version Prov 18:24
A man of many companions may come to ruin, but there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.

 

So to all my friends, thank you.  To the rest of you, find a friend and say thank you!

Author:

www.multicatable.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

