Posted in Weather

Did the Old Man Die?


It’s raining, It’s pouring.

The old man is snoring.

Went to bed, bumped his head,

Couldn’t get up in the morning.

 

It’s been raining quite a bit, too much in fact.  It makes things inconvenient.  But I’m not writing this blog to complain about the weather.  I’m writing this blog to talk about this song.  I don’t particularly like this song, because I don’t understand it.  It’s a kind of sad song as far as I interpret it.

1. The old man is snoring before he goes to bed.  I guess I can explain this by the fact that he might have fallen asleep in his chair by the fire.  Then he woke himself up with a particularly loud snore (it happens, I’ve seen my mom do it).  He proclaimed to the empty room (because he obviously lives alone) “I’m not asleep. I was just resting my eyes,” then he heads to his bed.  That’s why he was snoring before he went to bed.

2. So the old man goes to bed and on the way into bed he bumps his head.  On what?  The table, why was his head down there?  The head board, I suppose that’s possible.  This part of the song is very vague.  What part of his head?  What did he say?  How hard?

3. What does it mean that “he couldn’t get up in the morning?”  Did he get a concussion and die?  That would be terribly morbid for a children’s song.  Did he just have a really bad headache the next morning and stay asleep?  That’s a little better, but I feel bad that he had a headache.  Did he just not want to get out of bed in the morning because the world was all wet and cold and he didn’t want to go out in that weather?  That could be plausible since he’s old and most likely retired.  Hopefully that’s the case, but if it was wouldn’t it just say “he didn’t wanna get up in the morning?”  Oh dear.  The old man is most likely dead in his bed, and since he’s all alone no one but me knows.

Now do you see my dilemma with this song?  It’s depressing and confusing.

Author:

www.multicatable.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

