Posted in Education

Adding a Ms. to my Name…


Today, I began my mentor partnership at the community school.  This semester I will be going to the school three times a week in order to learn first hand what it takes to be a teacher.  I am paired up with quite the eccentric teacher and I hope our personalities and ideas do not clash.  She is taking the strategy of throwing me directly into the game.  For instance, it’s day one and she gives me a student and tells me to show him how to write a reflective piece.  Okay.  I haven’t written a reflective piece since high school and I’m not sure what the exact assignment was but now I’ve got to smile and pretend I know what’s going on.  I knew he needed to pick a specific event and reflect so that’s where we started.  It turned out well I believe.

One of the biggest challenges of this was remembering that he is a high schooler who has not had the writing practice that I have experienced.  It was hard to watch him write “theirs” instead of “there’s” but I reminded myself that it’s only a rough draft and his passion is in football, not writing.

The strangest part of the day was when the teacher introduced me as Ms. [insert my last name here].  I was thinking, nope that’s my mom.  I guess I’ll get used to it, because it does give me some sort of authority.  It just feels strange.

Author:

www.multicatable.wordpress.com

2 thoughts on “Adding a Ms. to my Name…

  1. Sometimes baptism by fire is the most effective way to learn. Welcome to the profession – it will probably be the hardest thing you’ve ever done. ~from a fellow teacher 🙂

    1. I’m not exactly a teacher yet. I’m still in college, but I’m in a class where we are required to go three times a week to the schools and work with a mentor teacher. Thanks for the encouragement.

Leave a Reply

