Posted in Bible Study

Guarding My Heart


Guard your heart above all else, for it determines the course of your life. Proverbs 4:23

 

I have tried so much to guard my heart, and my mind, from the junk that the world throws at it by listening to “Christian” music, reading “Christian” fiction, and going to church, but even still I come across things that aren’t exactly “Christian”.  I don’t think being a Christian does not mean I will not hear secular music or read secular literature.  I was called to live in this world for a reason, so I can’t isolate myself from these influences completely.  So without living in a bubble, how do I guard my heart from the “evils” in this world?  One blogger wrote about a heart condition he had as a child and he compares his attempts to control the condition to our attempts to protecting our hearts.  He says “The reality is, we will have no more success in protecting our hearts in a spiritual sense than I did to control the infection of my physical heart. We are helpless to protect our own hearts.”  Well that makes me feel great- I am helpless.  That is one of my least favorite feelings, so where does that leave me?

It leaves me with God.

“Sheltered in the shadow of the Cross, we find true and ultimate protection for our hearts. Immersed in the righteousness of Christ, we find covering for our sin and new identity as his precious children.”  When I give my desires, choices, problems, and heart over to God, He can protect them.  He offered me forgiveness and he also offers protection, as long as I’m willing to trust him.

This is freeing.  (Not freeing in the sense that I can do anything and expect no heartache. I still must follow God’s calling).  I can love people and make decisions with the full confidence that God will help me through heartache and pain that may accompany love.  Look at Christ.  He fully loved God and followed him whole-heartedly. “He loved His Father so much He was not afraid of getting hurt by loving others.”  By allowing God to guide his decisions, he was able to love people without apprehension.

So next time, I’m afraid to say something kind to someone or love someone, I can remember that God will protect me as long as I am following his guidance.  I don’ t to be afraid of rejection or snide comments, because God has called me to love others.

This phrase is still muddy and hard to explain, but it makes more sense to me now that I have realized that I don’t have to do the guarding on my own.  Let God guard my heart so that I can do His calling here without fear.

I will leave you with a quote from one of the blog posts that really stuck out to me:

“From the moment we wake up to the moment we lay our head down, we have the grand opportunity and honor to shower God with our love.”

 

 

http://www.relevantmagazine.com/life/relationship/features/28518-why-guarding-your-heart-isnt-enough

http://theresurgence.com/2011/08/03/guard-your-heart

 

 

Author:

www.multicatable.wordpress.com

6 thoughts on “Guarding My Heart

  1. This is such a big and important subject matter! Good for you for recognizing that God is in control even when we are not. I urge you to remember too;

    Philippians 4:7-9

    New International Version (NIV)

    7 And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

    8 Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things. 9 Whatever you have learned or received or heard from me, or seen in me—put it into practice. And the God of peace will be with you.

    One way to guard our hearts is to control that which we allow ourselves to think about. For example, if we are offended and spend days then thinking about how aweful so and so is for saying such a thing, we are not guarding our hearts but instead allowing bitterness to fester. In the same example however if we spend some time recognizing that so and so is just another flawed human being and ask God to help us to see them as He does – then we are thinking on noble, right and pure things.

  2. Reblogged this on Multicatable and commented:

    Looking back at this post, I still agree with this. I actually had some very similiar thoughts today when the pastor read Proverbs 4:20-27. Reading the verse in context makes a ton more sense. Guarding my heart is not about letting nothing in but letting God in and following his lead. He can decide what else or who else comes into my heart.

Leave a Reply

