Posted in Bible Study, Weather

Be Still…


Psalm 46:10 says “Be still, and know that I am God! I will be honored by every nation. I will be honored throughout the world.”

Tonight I figured out one meaning of the word “still.”  I went outside with my roommate to watch the meteor shower and do some general star gazing.  I had in my head it would just be stars falling everywhere, so I was quickly disappointed to see still stars.  Then as I allowed myself to settle in to the cold, still my gaze, and quiet my mind- stars started falling.  They were probably falling the entire time but I had just not gotten still enough.

God is God.  And that’s enough.

The stars proved that to me tonight.

Another thought that occurred to me is how much do I miss when I’m moving fast on a day to day basis?  How much of God’s beauty do I miss when I’m focused on getting from here to there?

It’s a sobering thought.  Unfortunately, I cannot lay down watch the stars all of the time, because God also commanded me to go.  It’s a balance of being still and seeing God and moving and seeing God.  The common denominator? Seeing God’s hand in every  moment of life.

Author:

www.multicatable.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

