Posted in Literature, Movies, Music

Classifying Things


Reading an analytical article for my English class reminded of one of my struggles-categorizing things.  I never have been very good at defining genres, because I see so many stereotypes and exceptions.  In fact some of my least favorite questions are: What is your favorite type of music?  What type of book do you most enjoy reading?  What is your favorite genre of movie?

‘The problem I have with these questions is that I like bits of many genres in each of these categories.  I like books, movies, or songs based on an individual basis not an entire “genre.”  While I will say that I don’t like country music, there are a few songs that others would classify as country that I do enjoy.  It’s a tricky balance.

Another problem with these questions is that as soon as I answer one of these questions with a genre, I am judged.  Now I know I shouldn’t worry what others think about me, but I do.  Okay, that’s out there.  I’m working on it, but I still don’t want to be judged based on my answer to one question.  Just because I say that I listen to Christian music does not mean I am going to shove my beliefs down your throat.  (I’m not sure that is the best example, because I am going to try to influence you about my beliefs in this aspect of my life.)  Just because my favorite book is Jane Eyre does not mean that is all I like to read.

So how do I answer these questions?

What is your favorite type of music?: I own mainly Christian music, but I listen to most anything in the background.

What type of book do you most enjoy reading?:  Oh that’s a tough question.  My favorite is either Little Women or Jane Eyre, but I will try reading most anything I can get ahold of.

What is your favorite genre of movie?: I used to always say musicals, but now I find that I like all types of movies, even some documentaries.

This leads me to thinking about how we classify people based on certain aspects, but I think that will be a whole different blog post…someday.

Author:

www.multicatable.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

