Posted in Bible Study, Life

I Dare To Hope


I have been feeling pretty discontent lately. I want things to happen in my time instead of God’s time.  I keep praying for the same things and hoping that they will happen.  Then I had a realization.  I need to be patient for God’s timing; it’s perfect anyway.  No matter how bad I want something to happen, I also need to be patient and wait for God to work it out.  This applies to numerous parts of my life.  The thing is that God knows what he’s doing so I shouldn’t rush Him.  It’s just that the human part of me wants to see results.

Patience.

It’s a hard thing to come by, especially when I want something for a long time.

It’s not that I’m praying for things that I know are out of God’s will.  I feel like these things are in God’s will for my life, but I also feel that I’m getting the wait sign from God.  That’s hard to accept, but I am thankful for the opportunity to work on my patience.

I think I’ll share a few verses I’ve been clinging to in case any of you readers (whoever you are) struggle with the same thing:

Philippians 4:6-7  Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done.  If you do this, you will experience God’s peace, which is far more wonderful than the human mind can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.

That peace.  Hmm…I have experienced that occasionally and it’s nice.  Then my flesh takes back over and I start worrying again.  That peace is what I desire.  Peace knowing that God has my life under control.

Acts 14:21-22   They preached the gospel in that city and won a large number of disciples. Then they returned to Lystra, Iconium and Antioch,  strengthening the disciples and encouraging them to remain true to the faith. “We must go through many hardships to enter the kingdom of God,” they said.

The last part of this verse really speaks to me.  Waiting on God is a hardship for me, especially when I want something to happen very badly.  Hardships do not mean physical trials; they can be emotional or mental trials that no one else ever sees.  There’s hope here.  Hardships end in a good thing- Heaven.  I think I can suffer through these emotional battles, even if they are never answered the way I want to, if only I get to go to Heaven.

Isaiah 40:31   But those who wait on the LORD shall renew their strength; They shall mount up with wings like eagles, They shall run and not be weary, They shall walk and not faint.

This was my Papaw’s favorite verse I do believe.  I will wait on the Lord.  There are times recently when I’ve felt weak, silly, and weary.  I know though that if I trust in God, He will restore me in His time.  Patience.

Lamentations 3: 21-32   Yet I still dare to hope when I remember this: The faithful love of the Lord never ends! His mercies never cease. Great is his faithfulness; his mercies begin afresh each morning. I say to myself, “The Lord is my inheritance; therefore, I will hope in him!” The Lord is good to those who depend on him, to those who search for him. So it is good to wait quietly for salvation from the Lord. And it is good for people to submit at an early age to the yoke of his discipline: Let them sit alone in silence beneath the Lord’s demands.  Let them lie face down in the dust, for there may be hope at last.  Let them turn the other cheek to those who strike them and accept the insults of their enemies.  For no one is abandoned by the Lord forever.  Though he brings grief, he also shows compassion because of the greatness of his unfailing love.

I didn’t post all of Lamentations 3, but I could have.  It’s one of my favorite passages.  It reminds me that no matter what I go through, be it loss, chains, or arrows, or something else, God is faithful.  I dare to hope.  It is good to wait quietly for God.  No one, even me, is abandoned by the Lord forever.  After grief, comes compassion and love.  Hmm… I just love this passage.  I probably could have made an entire post just about this passage (actually I think I might have once upon a time).

I dare to hope.

I wait patiently.

No one is abandoned.

The Lord will come through…in His perfect timing.

Author:

www.multicatable.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

