Posted in Remembering

Leaf, Memory.


I remember when….

I had to make a leaf notebook in seventh grade.  I hated it at the time, although now I appreciate that I can identify some trees.  The gist of the project was that we had to collect so many trees and identify them.  Then we had to put them in a notebook with correct information.  I’m not sure what exactly the purpose of this project.  I don’t remember my grade on the project.  I do remember one instance of panic and frustration.

There were so many leaves we had to have, and I was really close to getting finished.  I still needed a few more leaves, and I just couldn’t find this one particular tree (I can’t even remember what tree it was).  Finally someone brought me a leaf from this tree, but I kinda forgot about it.  I found it a week or so later…it was crumbly and moldy looking.  Ruh-roh.  I guess I somehow salvaged the leaf, but at the time it felt like the end of the world.  You see, I’m a bit of a perfectionist when it comes to school work.  Now though I realize, it didn’t require all of the drama that I brought to it.

Author:

www.multicatable.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

