Posted in Bible Study, Life

Your Love Never Fails


Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail.  They are new every morning;  great is your faithfulness.  I say to myself, “The Lord is my portion; therefore I will wait for him.  Lamentations 3:22-24.

This  is one of my favorite passages.  First it reminds me that God’s love is greater than things which threaten to consume me.  My weeks always start pretty stressful with classes, work, Bible studies (those are not the stressful parts but they are something that has to fit into my schedule), meetings, and the such (not to mention keeping up with my friendships), and then towards the end of the week life evens out.  Usually by the time Monday is over, I am exhausted and stressed.  Depending on the homework load, I sometimes feel like homework and problems are going to consume me.  I come back to this verse to remind me that God’s love is bigger than the stuff that threatens to consume me.

Then the verse reminds me that God supplies every day.  This reminder comes as I walk to my 8 am class on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday.  I go to school in a beautiful place where there are hills (mini-mountains) and trees and squirrels and all around beauty.  While walking to the education building from my dorm, I look out over the fields towards the hill and see the beauty that God has created.  The fog that lifts off the hills as the sun rises in the sky reveals the changing leaves.  This time of year is particularly beautiful, but in the winter I will look out there and be reminded that even though the snow on the sidewalk has turned to gray slush, snow is still beautiful.  God’s beauty lasts all day, but I see it most in the morning.

Next this passage reminds me of his faithfulness.  I see this in the beauty all around me and the peace I feel when I read this passage.  God is faithful to give me peace in the midst of my mini-crises.

Finally, it puts into words what I remind myself often.  The Lord is my portion.  When I feel like I need something worldly  to fill me up, I go to this passage and say to myself “The Lord is enough.”

Amazingly enough, this passage reminds me of a song that a friend shared with me last night.  The song says:

Your love never fails
It never gives up
It never runs out on me

How true is that? How awesome is it that while I was writing this blog post, that song started playing through my head again.  I had no intention of that song relating when I started reading this passage and writing about it but that’s God.

One Thing Remains- Kristian Stanfill

Author:

www.multicatable.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

