Posted in Life

My Mother.


“We have our mother tongue, which is our native language.  We have mother earth from which all growing things come, and Mother Nature, the unpredictable source of typhoons and tornadoes.  The mother lode is the source of riches and a “mother headache” is one that sends you to bed.  The mother of all storms is fierce, and the mother land is the home we left and long for.  Mother is the source of life.  Mother is powerful.  Mother is strong.  Mother can nurture, and mother can destroy.  Depending on our experiences, the word mother can evoke images of a warm, welcoming woman or turn our blood to ice.
Whether good or bad, whether redemptive or destructive, our relationships with our mothers affected us to the core of our beings, helping to shape us into the women we have become.  As Dinah says in The Red Tent, ‘If you want to understand any woman you must first ask about her mother and then listen carefully.'”
-Captivating by John and Stasi Eldredge, Page 168

My mother definitely has been a huge influence on my life- a positive influence that is.  She has influenced me, and I realize it a little more each time I think about her.  It all starts with the fact that I look almost exactly like her, and I think that made me want to act just like her as a child.  Acting like my mother is a great idea, because my mother is kind, generous, and goes out of her way to help people.  I’m not even sure how to talk about my mother to such a broad audience who doesn’t know her.

I don’t think I truly appreciated my mother until a few years ago when I realized just how  much my mother, as a single parent, has done to ensure that my brothers and I were happy and taken care of.  She sacrificed her time, energy, and life so that we could grow up well fed and well loved.  Never as a child did I hear my mother complain about money being tight (even though now I realize that it must have been) or about not being able to hang out with friends.  She did her best to make us not realize just how much she was sacrificing and to me that is a true example of the scripture that says “don’t let your right hand know what your left hand does” (That just came off the top of my head so I may have misquoted there a bit.  Please forgive me; you know what I’m referring to.)

As a side note, I really liked the chapter  that this quote came from, and there is one more quote I’d like to share.

This is from C.S. Lewis:

“To love at all is to be vulnerable. Love anything and your heart will certainly be wrung and possibly broken.  If you want to make sure of keeping it intact, you must give your heart to no one, not even to an animal.  Wrap it careful round with hobbies and little luxuries; avoid all entanglements; lock it up safe in the casket or coffin of your selfishness.  But in that casket- safe, dark, motionless, airless- it will change.  It will not be broken; it will become unbreakable, impenetrable, irredeemable…the only place outside of Heaven where you can be perfectly safe from all the dangers…of love is Hell.
Author:

www.multicatable.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

