Posted in Life

Causes


Tonight my college hosted the annual Empty Bowls event.  This dinner is sponsored by the department that I work for, but anyone in the community can come to it.  The gist of the night is that people buy tickets for $10 to attend and all of the proceeds go to the local food bank.  In return, the customers receive a handmade bowl and soup.  The bowls are donated by student crafts and local potters while the soup is entered into a contest.  And boy did people put out their best.  I had some corn and potato chowder and it was scrumptious.  The bowel is pretty too.

My bowl and yummy soup.
“My heart chose this bowl.”
The pretty blue inside of my bowl.

I just realized that I had typed bowels instead of bowl every time.   I changed it now, but it is kinda funny if read Empty Bowels.

Another cause I feel deserves some attention is the Kony 2012 campaign started by Invisible Children.  I heard this man speak at GSP in 2009 and felt something for this cause, but I haven’t heard much about it since then.  I am glad he is trying to make radical change.  The video is well worth watching which is why I want to post it on here as well.  It is sorta long, but there are many cute children and it has a great message.  Something needs to be done, and if this is the way it can be done, I say go for it.

I’ll probably make a more informed blog about this tomorrow or Friday when I do not have a looming Judaism test on my head.

Author:

www.multicatable.wordpress.com

4 thoughts on “Causes

  1. Yes, it’s sad how the children of a country in turmoil get caught up in the grave consequences, such as hunger. With the situation in Yemen even, UNICEF reported that 750,000 kids under 5 are malnourished.

    1. Sometimes I don’t know which causes to support because there is just so much tragedy in the world! I wish children did not have to be caught up in the decisions and fighting of adults.

Leave a Reply

