Posted in Literature

Imperfection- Margaret Atwood


I came across this quote in Margaret Atwood’s Oryx and Crake:

“It was the thumbprints of human imperfection that used to move him, the flaws in the design: the lopsided smile, the wart next to the navel, the mole, the bruise.”

Don’t worry, reading this quote will not spoil the book for you and I will not give any spoilers either.

As I read this I wanted to AMEN this statement.  I believe, as I think about this, that this is true!  It seems true that people think others are attractive because of the small imperfections that set people apart from other people.  Think of it this way: if everyone looked the same, would there be any lust?  No.  It seems logical that people pick out the imperfections as something that makes someone beautiful.  Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.  There are people I think are beautiful (on the outside) that others would not see as so and visa versa.

I don’t know if I am making much sense right now, because I am tired.  Maybe I’ll try this again in the morning.

Author:

www.multicatable.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

