Posted in Class, Education

MY HOPE FOR THE WORLD (as a teacher)


My education teachers keep asking me what my “hope for the world” is and I keep coming up with something that sounds good at the moment because I honestly don’t know what to say.  I have never really thought about this.  I don’t like those questions that ask “if you could change one thing in the world, what would it be.”  Gah!  Those annoy me.  I don’t really have any desire to change the whole entire world.  I could take the approach that I want to change the world one student at a time, but really I just want to teach them English.  Period.

Not a very good hope for the world.  I can’t really tell my teacher that because then she’d ask why I want to teach them English and why that is more important that math per say (which it is by the way).

So my hope for the world (or what I have decided so far):  As a teacher, I want to teach my students to think for themselves and value their own opinion.  This stems from my own life where I haven’t always felt comfortable talking aloud in certain classes.  Sometimes it is the setup of the room, others it is the teacher, and sometimes it is the students that make me feel inadequate or uncomfortable with sharing my opinion on certain subjects.  When I have my own classroom, I want to make it so that students feel comfortable sharing their thoughts.  I also want students to think their own ideas.  Too many times, there seems to be a “correct answer” in English classes when interpreting literature and I am not sure how this is determined.  Unless the answer come directly from the author, how can anyone know why an author included a specific part of any piece of writing.

In return I hope that these skills cause my students to value others, be who they are, and turn out to be the best that they can be.  Best is individualistic though, because I cannot determine what is the best for any person.  Each person must determine that for themselves and even that may take some time and searching.  My job is to help give each student opportunities to search for what is their best and to show them how to value what others do as well.

Author:

www.multicatable.wordpress.com

2 thoughts on “MY HOPE FOR THE WORLD (as a teacher)

  1. As a English teacher who just left the profession after ten years, I can tell you that you are in for one heck of a ride. Just be aware that sometimes, no matter how much you plan, teach, strive, and execute (which you should ALWAYS do), sometimes, you will run into a student that flat out does not want to be taught by you or anyone.

    A fellow teacher once said, “I’m not David Hasselhoff; I can’t save ’em all.” However, you can do all you can for the few you have within your sphere of influence. Good luck to you!

Leave a Reply

